The Saint-Gaudens Medal was established in 1988 and intended for, “such persons who, by their talents and beneficence, have made a distinguished contribution to the arts in America in the high tradition of Augustus Saint-Gaudens.” And it has been our practice to award the medal to those whose efforts have added to our knowledge, understanding and appreciation of Saint-Gaudens and the Cornish Colony.

A Saint-Gaudens Medal has been given ten times in the past 28 years. The Medal pictured above was designed in 1992 by the late Robert W. White. Bobby White was an artist, a long-time Trustee of the Memorial, and grandson of the architect Stanford White, who was a frequent collaborator on projects with Saint-Gaudens. This medal has been awarded to eight of the recipients.

2016 David McCullough, Historian and author
2014 James B. Atkinson, Historian and author
2005 Earl A. Powell, III, Director, National Gallery of Art
2000 Rosamond Putnam, Arts advocate
1998 Eric Lagercrantz, Donor
1997 Robert W. White, Sculptor
1994 Burke Wilkinson, Author
1994 Charles A Platt, Architect and artist
1992 Walker Hancock, Sculptor
1990 Lincoln Kirstein, Author and arts advocate