Fellowship Program

2012 Fellow

The Saint-Gaudens Memorial is pleased to announce the awarding of its 2012 Fellowship to Elana Herzog. Herzog’s “sculptural drawings” are extensively worked surfaces that puncture, build up and simultaneously dissolve walls throughout exhibition spaces. In this work, Herzog staples found textiles—often bedspreads and carpets—to walls and other surfaces, using thousands of metal staples. Herzog explains that the staples “act as mark, material, and fastener, distressing, and ornamenting the surfaces they penetrate.” Recently, Herzog’s work has also featured independent sculptural elements; recycled wood, steel and other composite materials.

Elana Herzog lives and works in New York City. She has had solo and two person exhibitions in numerous venues, including the Aldrich Museum of Contemporary Art in Connecticut; Smack Mellon in New York; the Herbert F. Johnson Museum at Cornell University, in New York; Morgan Lehman Gallery, and PPOW Gallery, New York City; Diverse Works in Texas; the Zilkha Gallery, Wesleyan University, Connecticut and at LMAK projects in New York. Her work has been exhibited internationally at the Reykjavik Art Museum, Reykjavik, Iceland, in Sweden at Konsthalle Goteborg and at Konstahalle Gustavsbergs, and Tegnerforbundet in Oslo, Norway.

The Fellowship of the Saint-Gaudens Memorial was established in 1977 to assist artists of promise. A Fellow is selected annually by the Saint-Gaudens Memorial from a pool of candidates put forward by the Fellowship Committee and advisors, and is awarded to artists who have completed a body of work that demonstrates exceptional talent, and who may benefit from the recognition and financial grant that accompany the Fellowship. The year following the Fellowship, the artist submits works for installation, as part of the Saint-Gaudens Memorial exhibition series at the Picture Gallery.


Romancing the Rock, 2010, 8 x 8 x 8 feet
Metal staples, textile, painted drywall construction


 About the Fellowship

The Fellowship of the Saint-Gaudens Memorial was established in 1977 in order to assist artists of promise or occasionally scholars. Each year, provided there is sufficient funding, one or more Fellows is chosen. Selection is made by a jury of Trustees of the Memorial as well as invited artists and advisors, including past Fellows (the Fellowship Committee). The Fellow is chosen from candidates whose work is solicited by members of the jury and other Trustees of the Memorial. The committee meets in the spring.

The policy of the committee is to award the Fellowship to artists or scholars who are practicing primarily in the United States and have a demonstrated exhibition record that shows them to possess exceptional talent, but who are not yet firmly established in the field and may benefit from the recognition and financial assistance that accompany the Fellowship.

In addition to a grant, the Fellowship entails an exhibition of representative examples of the Fellow’s work in the following year at the Saint-Gaudens National Historic Site in Cornish, New Hampshire, and the submission of a brief artist’s statement concerning the work. The mounting of these exhibits is funded through the Memorial’s Exhibits Committee.

It was the intention of the Fellowship when it was created that the Fellows’ Memorial-sponsored exhibits be relevant to the ideals of Saint-Gaudens, as an artistically innovative artist, a mentor to emerging artists, or to the enhancement of public interest in his life, work and the creative process.

Fellows of the Saint-Gaudens Memorial

1978 Daniel Sinclair

1979 Edwin Rothfarb

1980 Philip Livingston

1981 Nicholas B. Edmunds

1982 No Fellowship Awarded

1983 Alex McFarlane

1984 Walter Dusenbery, James M. Wolfe

1985 No Fellowship Awarded

1986 Andrew Topolski

1987 Petah Coyne

1988 Michael Gitlin

1989 Kate Ericson & Mel Ziegler

1990 Cameron McNall, Susan Rodgers

1991 No Fellowship Awarded

1992 Jene Highstein

1993 Judith Shea

1994 Win Knowlton

1995 Jon Kessler

1996 Judy Pfaff

1997 Alison Saar

1998 Amy Hauft

1999 Carlos Dorrien

2000 Peter Shelton

2001 Do-Ho Suh
2002 Willie Cole

2003 Tara Donovan

2004 No Fellowship Awarded

2005 Hirsch Perlman

2006 Ann Carlson & Mary Ellen Strom

2007 Alyson Shotz

2008 Claire Watkins

2009 Rachel Hayes

2010 Mary Temple

2011 Darren Blackstone Foote

2012 Elana Herzog


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.